PDA

View Full Version : Almost completely clear film, first time ever, WTF?

David R Munson
14-Nov-2011, 08:33
I've been developing my own b&w film for a solid 15 years now and I've got things pretty well worked out. Of course I still make mistakes from time to time, but not anything major any more.

But tonight, for the first time ever in 15 years, I had film come out completely clear. This was roll film, but I wanted to ask here because I trust you guys more than other forum groups. The obvious answer is that I put the fixer in first by accident, but I've never done that and I'm totally paranoid about doing that so I make sure by all practical means that I don't.

Is there *anything* else that can happen and make it look like you fixed it first? I have gone over it a hundred times in my head and I just can't figure it out. I measured the developer, mixed it, put it it, etc as usual. Everything was like it always was and yet....not frame numbers on the film edges, a little tiny black streak from a light leak along the edge of the film at one point, and extremely faint, not-remotely-salvageable suggestions of images on the film itself. The fact that there's that little tiny dark edge from a light leak at the end of the roll makes me think that I did, in fact, use developer first, but that something went horribly wrong. Thing is, I used the same developer at the same dilution before and after this on other batches of film with zero problems. The only thing that was different was the type of film. I considered that it might have been extremely underdeveloped, but at the time I used even if it were under, it still would have been a hell of a lot closer to normal than to clear.

This is driving me nuts. I'm stumped. Any ideas?

BrianShaw
14-Nov-2011, 08:35
Is it possible that you loaded the film into the camera incorrectly, with the backing paper facing the lens?

Kevin Crisp
14-Nov-2011, 08:44
Film popped off take up reel and didn't advance?

Brian C. Miller