PDA

View Full Version : Ball head or Pan & tilt head???

stradibarrius
12-Nov-2011, 08:07
I was curious if there was a strong preference for either a pan & tilt or a ball head?
I am new to LF and have a Cambo SC that weights about 7lbs., I think.
With my MF and 35mm gear I have always used a ball head. When I carry the 4x5 on the tripod the ball head I have does not hold the camera, even when I crank down tight on the tension adjusters.

It seems that with the big mass on top a pan and tilt would be easier???

Richard Wasserman
12-Nov-2011, 08:19
I am a fan of 3-way heads, my favorite is a Manfrotto 410 geared head. I tried an Arca Swiss ball head, but never got comfortable with it—too hard to adjust one plane without disturbing the other. Of course others will chime in that ball heads are the best...

Joanna Carter
12-Nov-2011, 08:23
Another vote for the Manfrotto 410. As Richard says, it is a geared head, not a pan and tilt head, and that means it is exceptionally easy to make very fine adjustments in only one plane at a time.

Ari
12-Nov-2011, 08:42
I've found that 3-way heads are great for monorail cameras, ball heads are not.
I've gotten away with using a ball head on a field camera, but I always found it too time-consuming to level properly.

David R Munson
12-Nov-2011, 09:04
For careful work, I don't see how people end up using ball heads. Even with a good tension control like you have on good ball head, careful axis-specific adjustments (like most of us want when doing the sort of work one is apt to do with a view camera) becomes problematic. I have a fairly cheap but decent Sirui ball head that serves me well when I want a ball head, but otherwise I have an old (~30 years?) Gitzo 3-way head that is stellar. So much easier to use effectively doing most of my work, there's no debate which head to use when I go out with the view camera.

Fred L
12-Nov-2011, 09:05