PDA

View Full Version : Selenium Toning Suggestions

James Hughes
5-Nov-2011, 14:45
Hi all, I'm a mathematician taking a photography class at the school I work at. This is my first semester shooting 4x5 and printing in a darkroom. As the semester winds down, the photography professor and I want to explore toning.

Our goal is to show toning to the students in the class. I'm particularly interested in selenium toning, but that's many because I've read Ansel Adams' Camera/Negative/Print series.

I'm wondering what advice folks have to make an effective demonstration of toning. The biggest concern I have is which paper to use. We have three VC papers: Ilford MG IV RC paper in Pearl and Glossy finish and some Ilford FB Warmtone paper with glossy finish.

I've read conflicting reports about toning VC papers. Any positive reports or suggestions about those papers? Also, if you had to show off selenium toning, is there a particular paper you would suggest?

Thanks in advance!

Mark Sampson
5-Nov-2011, 14:56
Ilford's fiber-base Multigrade shows deeper blacks, but almost no color change in KRST @ 1:20 (how I use it). Warmtone FB shows a color change more readily. A good test would be three different dilutions for a variety of toning times. I can't advise about RC papers but they shouldn't be very different than fiber-base.

Szaller
5-Nov-2011, 15:06
I would go for ANY FB paper if I wanted to demonstrate selenium toning. FB papers react much faster to selenium toning and tend to give more "obvious" results than RC papers. FB papers are "easier" to tone. I don´t think VC papers would give you any problems...(anyone can correct me on that one if I´m wrong). :)

ROL
5-Nov-2011, 15:43
I think an instructive "test" might be something like using examples of different papers, RC and fiber, VC and graded, pulling at three times each:

untoned
toning without without color shift
toning for color shift
toning to completion (unconcerned with color shift – full archival "advantage")