PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 Transparency Film

jantman
25-Sep-2003, 05:27
Hello. I'm in high school (16) and fairly new to larget format - I've been shooting for a few months. I shoot in 8x10 and up until now have only done black and white because it's all I can handle price-wise and I like to develop my own film (which I can't do for any E-6 yet, let alone 8x10).

Now, autumn is on the way, the colors are going to start changing, and I DO have an apochromatic lens. But not the money.

I was wondering if there's anyone out there who would be willing to sell me a few sheets (maybe 2 or 3) of 8x10 color transparency film, preferrably ISO 100 or 50 (being that I have an unshuttered lens).

Thank You Very Much, Jason Antman

PS - At $100 a box, I could get that 14" Ektar instead.

Mark Sampson
25-Sep-2003, 06:04
Transparency film requires more accurate exposure than b/w, so working without a shutter is a less than ideal method. It will be a great experience to see an 8x10 chrome... but don't be surprised, or discouraged, if the resulsts aren't perfect.

Ted Harris
25-Sep-2003, 08:24
Jason,

You should be able to buy out-of-date but still perfectly good 8x10 transparancy film from Freestyle Photo. last time I looked they had Astia available for something like $15 a box.

If that doesn't work contact me directly and I will see what I can do. I can sell you a box of slightly out of date Agfa RSXII 100 real cheap or give you a couple of sheets.

Good luck,

Ted

jantman
25-Sep-2003, 11:20
I'll check Freestyle, thanks. But $15 a box? That sounds like 4x5 not 8x10.

I know it won't be ideal, but I'd like to try. Plus, I keep exposures around 1-2 sec (yeah, pray for no wind) and it works pretty well.

tim atherton
25-Sep-2003, 11:26
Jason,

the (good) cheap Astia is all gone...

but there is

Fuji 50D - 6.99 for 10 24.99 for 50

Fuji 100D - 7.99 for 10 28.99 for 50

under specials/clearance