PDA

View Full Version : Adding the Aero Ektar to the Speed Graphic

nonuniform
31-Oct-2011, 11:39
I've got the bug to find an Aero Ektar and add it to a Speed Graphic. I have a Crown Graphic, which I love, but wanted something with a longer lens.

Based on everything I've read, I guess the Speed Graphic is the way to go, rather than a Crown Graphic.

Is there a particular version of Speed Graphic I should look for? I know there were differences over time, but I'm not an expert.

Jim Jones
31-Oct-2011, 12:38
An Anniversary model, made from 1940 to 1946, should do well. The Pacemaker series Speed Graphic, made from 1947 to 1973, have a few improvements. Prior to the late 1950s they used a side-mounted rangefinder like the Anniversary model that can be adjusted to accomodate the Aero Ektar. From the late 1950s they incorporated a built-in top-mounted rangefinder that requires a cam to match the rangefinder to the focal length of the lens. This may be more difficult than adjusting the earlier side-mounted rangefinders. If it is just a longer lens you want, there are plenty available that are easier to adapt to a Speed Graphic or Crown than the Aero Ektar. Unlike the Aero Ektar, most will permit the front of the camera to close with the lens mounted. A search for Aero Ektar on this site or on google should lead to much more information.

nonuniform
31-Oct-2011, 12:52
Thanks for the information. I have both an interest in a longer lens, and in fact, have both 180mm and 240mm Schneider lenses, but also found myself really enamored of the look created by the Aero Ektar.

I started this process thinking about a longer lens option on my spare Crown Graphic with top RF, but the lack of a matched cam changed my mind. So, when I started researching the side RF, that lead me to the Aero Ektar, and...well, there you have it.

Lynn Jones
31-Oct-2011, 13:01
I have two, one in Nikon mount and the other for view cameras, I like them and have used them for at least 35 years.

Lynn