PDA

View Full Version : Help on 4x5 Camera choice. :)

Jade Cocoon
30-Oct-2011, 10:41
Hello! As of now I do not have a Large Format Camera, YET. And I plan to remedy that this coming November. :p Based on my research on the net (not that extensive) it looks like the camera that fits my wants (and budget, below $600 hopefully) are the Speed Graphic and Crown graphic. I know the basic difference about them, like no FP Shutter on the Crown. Also, I think 4x5 is the biggest I will go (I know that is like "small" format compared to the other LF sizes). But can I do wet plate collodion on them? It looks difficult, but I want to try it. There are kits that I can buy at bostick-sullivan. I am not a pro photographer, all I want is to experience using these wonderful cameras and for me, very cool processes. I will be using this for portraiture, but not indoors. Portraits of people in their environment. As for landscapes and still life, that would be like 10% of what I shoot. :) The film I plan to use would be Fujiroids, and I believe I have no problem using those via the proper film holder. So is the Crown/Speed (leaning more towards the Crown) the right camera for me? Or is there something a bit better for my needs that I can get for $600? If there is something a bit above that price range, I can save up for it until December. I am in no hurry. Thank you and good day to all! :)

Bob Salomon
30-Oct-2011, 10:54
Are you planning on hand holding large format? If not buy a view camera, not a press camera. Then you can learn what large format can really do. Back tilts and swings let you control the shape of the subject and control the plane of sharp focus. Front tilts and swings let you control the plane of sharp focus also. But they do not allow you to control the shape of the subject.
They most also allow you to use a larger range of lenses, larger lenses and perhaps get greater magnification, depending on how much bellows they have.