PDA

View Full Version : Making multiple prints

Jeff Dexheimer
26-Oct-2011, 12:49
I am sure this is a simple question but since I am new to film I have no idea how this works.

After several days of experimenting and wrapping my brain around getting my prints to mostly look the way I want, I am finally satisfied with my result. Is there a way to duplicate my print in the darkroom without having to burn and dodge all over again? Say for example, making a contact print from my original print?

E. von Hoegh
26-Oct-2011, 12:51
No. What I do is take a work print and mark the areas and times for burning/dodging, as well as any tools used.

Don't despair, this takes time to become proficient at.

edit: Keep the annotated work prints on file.

Jeff Dexheimer
26-Oct-2011, 12:54
unfortunate

E. von Hoegh
26-Oct-2011, 13:02
unfortunate

Just think, WWAD? (What would Ansel do?) His book, "The Print" is a great one to have.:)

Jeff Dexheimer
26-Oct-2011, 13:04
I have his first two, but I haven't read "the Print" I will get to it soon.

jeroldharter
26-Oct-2011, 13:37
Timers like RH Designs and Darkroom Automations make it much easier to repeat complicated burn sequences by having multiple easily programmable sequences.

Also, you can try exposing one sheet after another and storing the exposed paper in a paper safe or box. Then you can batch process many sheets at once. If you batch process, you want to standardize on a long development time so that you develop to completion. Also, you want to use ample volume of solutions so you do not exhaust them. I use nitrile gloves to handle the prints in the trays.

Fiber based paper is much easier to batch process than RC paper because RC paper tends to stick together when wet.

Oren Grad
26-Oct-2011, 14:51
Is there a way to duplicate my print in the darkroom without having to burn and dodge all over again? Say for example, making a contact print from my original print?