PDA

View Full Version : Fraud--beware Shawn Cain aka @eBay "iwantstuff88"

Peter Collins
22-Sep-2003, 18:58
LF colleagues, please beware of any offerings from Shawn Cain of Washington state, working eBay as "iwantstuff88."

I was defrauded of $134 by this thief. He has a large number of negative feedbacks in the last few months, apparently because of repeated defrauding of bidders. He cashed my postal MO; he screens telephone calls with his answering machine, does not return calls and does not respond to email. An email address which he uses is "stuffhunter50@hotmail.com."

Yes, I was a naive eBay newbie and did not check feedback before bidding. Still trying to graduate from the School of Hard Knocks, but I keep failing some courses and have to repeat them, it seems!

Beware, and spread the word. Thank you. Ciao for now....

John Downie
22-Sep-2003, 20:19
He or she is no longer registered as an ebay user.

John Hollenberg
22-Sep-2003, 20:21
Have you taken the steps from their fraud prevention program?

http://pages.ebay.com/help/community/fpp.html?ssPageName=STRK:SRVC:030

If it hasn't been more than 90 days, you can get all but $25 back if you follow the proper procedures. Of course, I don't know in practice how much hassle is involved filing a claim.

Donald Miller
22-Sep-2003, 22:18
If he cashed a USPS money order and the transaction was conducted through the US mail then I would turn this over to the USPS authorities. I think that mail fraud is still a prosecutable offense.

neil poulsen
23-Sep-2003, 08:44
I've been swindled only once on ebay. While the feedback was good, it was of questionable numbers, especially as a seller. I bit, and he knew he had a sucker on the line! After that, it was, "We've had a death in the family, and I had to leave town in a hurry!" Etc.

Other than that, I've had many trouble-free EBay transactions. I always make sure there's lots of feedback, both as a seller and a buyer. And, unless there are hundreds, it better all be good.