PDA

View Full Version : Fujinon 150mm for full length portrait?

carlosmh1910
20-Oct-2011, 15:11
I'm not very experienced at shooting people with large format and I have some admittedly basic questions. First, I've heard that shooting at a shorter focal length can distort a persons figure. I only have two lenses, a symmar 180 macro and a Fujinon 150mm lens. I really don't want to plunk down the money for a new lens if I don't have to. Can I just use the 150mm or should I buy something else? I'm doing full length, so no close up or anything. If I do buy something else, any suggestions? I don't want a soft lens because I want every detail and skin imperfection (verism style). Thanks so much! Oh, and I'm using strobes so the aperture doesn't have to be very open.

Armin Seeholzer
20-Oct-2011, 15:21
Should work fine for full body, for head shoots only, you can use the 180 Macro, still on the short side but should also work!

Cheers Armin

Frank Petronio
20-Oct-2011, 15:27
A 150mm is fine for "normal" full-length or environmental portraiture.

If you do move in closer, simply keep their noses and protuberances near the center of the frame. Hands or ears near the edges tend to show distortion, hair and shadows much less so.

chassis
20-Oct-2011, 16:21
I have shot a couple of full length portraits lately with a 150mm lens and they turned out nicely.

carlosmh1910
20-Oct-2011, 17:29
They're not going to be very environmental, the models will take up much of the frame. Is that going to be problematic for distortion?

John Rodriguez
20-Oct-2011, 19:26
You may want to use the 180 then.

r.e.
20-Oct-2011, 21:21
They're not going to be very environmental, the models will take up much of the frame. Is that going to be problematic for distortion?

Given that you already have a camera and the lens, why don't you just make some photos and see what you think of them. For that matter, why not use both lenses and compare?