PDA

View Full Version : Enlarging Color 4x5 Negative with 1:1 Ratio Troubleshooting

rshorosky
19-Oct-2011, 17:56
hey everyone,

i have recently been shooting 4x5 color film and after spending the past few years making c-prints from 6x7 and 35mm i wanted to start making c-prints from 4x5 negatives. the problem i have run into is that i am trying to print 4x5 negatives onto 11x14 paper with a 1:1 ratio and am unsure if this is possible with an enlarging lens or if i should just go right to contact printing? i have tried using 135mm and 150mm but i cannot get the lens to reduce the image to 4x5 in. and be able to fully focus the image with a grain focuser. the problem with contact printing is that i do not want the black borders around the image so my only thought would be to construct my own negative holder that would fit the 4x5 negative and cover the rest of the paper? i have never contact printed before so i am fairly new to the processes but am fairly familiar with the color darkroom so tips so any and all assistance would be greatly appreciated.

all the best,
ryan

Daniel Stone
19-Oct-2011, 18:19
...the problem with contact printing is that i do not want the black borders around the image ...

contact print, easy peasy japaneezy. TRIM the black borders off before mounting.

There ARE lenses designed for 1:1 "enlargements", but why "enlarge" it if you can just contact print it? It'll be sharper, that's for damn sure

-Dan

Bill Burk
19-Oct-2011, 18:20
Lift the enlarger head, rack out your lens as far as possible, then find the focus point by holding a sheet of paper under the lens.

I'm fortunate to have an Auxiliary Focusing Attachment for my D-II which lets me reduce 4x5 with a 135mm lens to 35%

ic-racer
19-Oct-2011, 18:36