PDA

View Full Version : New Lens or Lens Hood?

sully75
16-Oct-2011, 18:44
So...

I've been using a Schneider Kreuznach Symmar 180mm since I started shooting 5x7. I got it for $100 and have been generally pleased with the results I've gotten.

That said I'm slowly realizing that my images lack contrast and have a lot of flare...I'm kinda guessing that these things are related. I end up doing a lot of photoshop to be able to make nice prints of them.

I have heard this lens is prone to flare. The kind of shooting I do is generally wandering around stopping strangers and asking them if I can take their portrait. So...I'm open to using a lens hood, but I'm wondering, could I get really nice results with a much nicer lens and no hood? The hood thing would just add an element of futzing around to what already can be a somewhat awkward experience.

Short answer: do I need to use a lens hood with a modern 210mm lens on 5x7? Could I get great results without one?

And any particular 210mm lens you'd recommend as a balance of quality and price?

GPS
16-Oct-2011, 19:29
Instead of crying for help, why don't you make a simple lens hood for your lens and see for yourself the difference?

sully75
16-Oct-2011, 21:33
Thanks! That's really helpful.

Paul Fitzgerald
16-Oct-2011, 21:51
"Short answer: do I need to use a lens hood with a modern 210mm lens on 5x7? Could I get great results without one?"

There is a good reason Hollywood uses really tricked-out lens shades with baffle plates: they work very well, even with super multi-coated lenses. Even one of the collapsible rubber lens hoods would work better than nothing.

GPS
17-Oct-2011, 04:26
Thanks! That's really helpful.

Isn't it? You can make (out of paper) a simple and very effective lens shade in about 30s. Then you can take a picture and compare it with your non shaded lens. Nobody else can do this for you.

Jim Jones
17-Oct-2011, 06:24