PDA

View Full Version : Which camera to choose?

xxxl.a.m.fxxx
11-Oct-2011, 02:49
I am currently looking to buy a large format camera, being a student I have limited funds looking to spend around the £500-600 mark including preferably 210mm lens. I am stuck weather to buy a monorail set up or a fold-able model like the crown Graflex. I am planning primarily to do a series of portrait shoots for a university project hence the need for a 210mm lens, however my personal photography involves much urban exploration so preferably I need something which isn't too heavy.

Any advice or recommendation would be most appreciated.
Cheers.

unixrevolution
11-Oct-2011, 05:44
I am currently looking to buy a large format camera, being a student I have limited funds looking to spend around the £500-600 mark including preferably 210mm lens. I am stuck weather to buy a monorail set up or a fold-able model like the crown Graflex. I am planning primarily to do a series of portrait shoots for a university project hence the need for a 210mm lens, however my personal photography involves much urban exploration so preferably I need something which isn't too heavy.

Any advice or recommendation would be most appreciated.
Cheers.

Well, from my limited experience, the two types of cameras you name here are very different indeed. The Monorail is going to be the cheaper option, most likely...I managed to snag a good Monorail camera on eBay for just $211 USD. The monorail will also let you make full use of lens movements, with huge amounts of tilt, swing, shift, rise and fall on both standards.

However, the monorail will likely be extremely heavy and cumbersome. I would never take mine more than say, 100 yards from my car, for example, without extremely good reason. They don't pack well, they disassemble but that's going to make your setup times unbearable.