PDA

View Full Version : Color Correction Filters - Necessary for E6 Scanning Workflow?

John Rodriguez
10-Oct-2011, 08:49
I only started shooting film this year after shooting digital for the past 6. For the most part I've been able to color balance in post, but I think it would be easier if the chromes were color balanced from the start. However, the big downside is the extra time to setup, I missed an amazing clearing mist shot this weekend because I couldn't get setup in time after already waiting for an hour for the light to be right, adding filter setup time (especially if bothering with a color meter) wouldn't have made it any shorter :)

So - Do you recommend using color correction filters in an E6=>Scan work flow?

* I'm shooting outdoor landscape exclusively, using Provia (sometimes Ektar neg when I need the range).

Recommended filters to start?

Mark Stahlke
10-Oct-2011, 09:36
I missed an amazing clearing mist shot this weekend because I couldn't get setup in time after already waiting for an hour for the light to be right...
Umm, John, what were you doing during that hour you spent waiting for the light?

When I'm shooting E6 films in cloudy conditions or shade, I like an 81B filter. It only takes a few seconds to screw a filter onto a lens. No need for a color meter.

John Rodriguez
10-Oct-2011, 09:43
Umm, John, what were you doing during that hour you spent waiting for the light?

Waiting to see where I was. Visibility was about 25 feet through the fog, so I couldn't find my exact composition until it started to clear (I'd scouted the location the previous day but couldn't find it in the mist).

I know that Charles Cramer was rather exacting in measuring color temp and using the exact appropriate filters to match when he shot film, but I wonder if he'd still take that approach now that he prints digitally.

Ari
10-Oct-2011, 10:18
I leave the colour correction to PS.
If you have to present the chrome as a final, then I'd use filtration.