PDA

View Full Version : Looking For Advice About 4x5 Film Holders

William D. Lester
17-May-1999, 14:34
I am relatively new to 4x5 photography. I presently own a couple of Riteway film holders and some Lisco Regal II film holders. I like the fact that the Riteway holders don't have the small steel hooks to lock the slide in place. They seem e asier to use. There is also a caution that the holders can't be used with Linhof f cameras. Does anyone have any advice that they might share about any advantage s or disadvantages of one over the other. Are there any other options / makers t hat I don't know about? Any adivice is welcome.

Bill Lester

Mark Windom
17-May-1999, 21:48
I use both Riteway and Toyo holders.

I have had a rare Riteway holder that had light leak problems but for the most part they are very adequate. One nice feature is the ability to imprint a number on the sheet. I, too, like the fact that you don't have to deal with the hooks found on other holders.

The Toyos are probably the best made holders I have seen. Very solid construction and I have never had a light leak problem. They are about twice as expensive as the Riteways so cost becomes a factor.

I can't comment on the Lisco Regal's.

Bottom line, stick with the Riteways.

Timo Ripatti
18-May-1999, 07:46
Bill,