PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Pyrocat-MC

jon.leatherwood
4-Oct-2011, 09:54
I've been working in the darkroom for a good 40 years but am totally puzzled by my results with Pyrocat-MC.

I'm using TMAX 400 4x5, and it's all coming out under-developed (using the edge marking as a guide). I've mixed the developer in my tap water (filtered well water) as well as bottled drinking and distilled water, with no change in result. Time/temp is 10 mins in tray at 75F, shuffing usually two sheets, continuously for the first 30 secs, then at 30 sec intervals. I'm using TF4 fixer w/o stop bath. Everything looks a stop or two under.

I just shot and processed a test with a different meter, scrupulously checking exposure, bellows extension factors, etc etc, and it's just like all the others.

When I mix up my dev (6cc + 6cc + 600ml H20) it's slightly brown in the tray, and after I've finished developing (after 10 mins) it's turned wine red/purple, which I gather is normal. The code on the bottles is 120.

What am I doing wrong?????

Thanks

Richard Wasserman
4-Oct-2011, 10:23
I think you might be under-developing. Depending on the range of the scene I process TMY-2 which I rate at 250 EI for 18 minutes @72º, agitating every 3 minutes. I enlarge with a color head.

domaz
4-Oct-2011, 14:10
I have to add a bit to the published times for Pyrocat-MC as well. Don't take the "standard" development times at face value.

Jay DeFehr
4-Oct-2011, 16:53
Jon,

Edge markings are not a very reliable indicator of proper development. Have scanned/printed your negs?

ic-racer
4-Oct-2011, 17:14
I just shot and processed a test with a different meter, scrupulously checking exposure, bellows extension factors, etc etc, and it's just like all the others
Was that a Zone 1 test shot? Did it come out to 0.1 log D?

Increase development by 20% and re-assess. Keep increasing development time until they are printable on your favorite paper. If you use multigrade paper, there is a lot of leeway.