PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Deardorff 810 Equipment?

NinerMaine
25-Sep-2011, 17:14
Hello,

I graduated School of Visual Arts over 20 years ago with a BFA in photography. During my last two years at SVA and for about 5 years afterwards I used my Deardorff 8x10. I have not used it or the Gitzo tri-pod, film holders and lens in about 15 years. I am involved in other art media since leaving photography and am now considering selling all my large format equipment and using the funds to resupply what I am currently working in. I live in rural Maine and am out of touch with things photographic. I am really very clueless as to what the value is of this equipment these days and the best place to sell them.

Can anyone recommend some place where I can get a sense of its value?

How about some places where I might be able to sell them?

And most importantly, is large format equipment still sought after like it was 20 years ago, or has the demand for it fallen off the cliff like 35 mm analogue equipment?

Thanks for your input.

vinny
25-Sep-2011, 17:28
Ebay, completed listings.

John Kasaian
Condition is everything.

BarryS
A typical Deardorff V8 (with front swings) in good user condition is worth maybe $1200-1500. If it's a beater with some issues, the price could push below $1000, if it's in very fine condition, then closer to $2000. Film holders $25-45 depending on model, age, and condition. After one month, you can post in the classifieds here--which is an excellent place to sell LF items.

TheDeardorffGuy
25-Sep-2011, 18:56
All really good answers

NinerMaine
30-Sep-2011, 14:02
Thank you for the replies. The problem with Ebay now is that they do not allow access to the data for more than 2 weeks or so. It is much harder to price an item that does not come up very often.