PDA

View Full Version : Tips for Getting Started with Wet Plates / Collodion

Tim Layton
24-Sep-2011, 21:33
I have been doing LF for several years now and would like to explore trying wet plate collodion. I have no background in the process so I need to start at the beginning. Can you recommend some resources and where to start?

Thanks

Tim

Fourtoes
24-Sep-2011, 23:13
I'd recommend a workshop as a good starting point.
Also plenty of info over on collodion.com forum.

Where are you based?

cyrus
25-Sep-2011, 00:22
Warm up some pancake syrup, and practice pouring it over glass as if it was collodion. There's some physical dexterity required!

Joe Smigiel
25-Sep-2011, 11:54
My online article entitled "Getting Started In Wetplate Collodion Photography" (http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/WPC/wpc.html) has links to resources including photographers holding workshops.

Artcraft or Bostick & Sullivan can set you up with all the chemicals for the process. Chemsavers is another source.

WootSK
25-Sep-2011, 17:59
Adding on to the question, I am curious about a few things for wet plate. (I am from Singapore and there isn't anyone there to guide me there)

1. How do you determine the exposure on the glass, it isn't like film where there is a ASA/ISO.

2. I seen a few videos where people burn the glass after processing. Is there a different between burning it and not burning it cause I see no different in the end result.

3. There are a few that wrote that from the glass came out of the nitrate dip to the exposure must be at most 15mins and some wrote from the glass came out of the nitrate dip to developing must be at most 15mins. Which one should be it?

4. I currently have a sinar and planning to upgrade to a 8X10, can I use it for wet plate or I must need a camera dedicated for it?

Hope someone can answer the above question. I am planning on slowly saving up for my set up starting from a grow house for gardening for mobile darkroom.

WootSK
25-Sep-2011, 18:29
@ Joe Smigiel