PDA

View Full Version : Bellows Care and Maintenance?

kq6up
20-Sep-2011, 20:44
I have a Burke and James 8x10" Grover. I am wondering what the best way to store the bellows -- folded in or extended. The looked a little droopy after setting in my office for a while. I tried to pull them up by the little tab in the middle of the bellows. It pulled right off since the glue was so old. Should I bother gluing that tab back on. I am not sure it is actually used. I am imagining it is for a wide angle lens -- that is to keep the bellows from getting in the image circle. I am not sure how important this thing is. I am rather new to 8x10" and was wondering how you guys cared for your bellows. They are still in great condition and I would like to keep it that way.

Also, I am wondering what kind of case I should get for this thing. I have been just been buckling it in a seat, but I have not been off road with it. I am wondering what would be a good case for this beast as I might have out in my Jeep in the future, and it would need better protection in that environment.

Thanks,
Chris Maness

TheDeardorffGuy
25-Sep-2011, 16:28
The sag loop is there for a reason. When fully extended it prevents sag. It is needed.
Use the search here for bellows care. theres LOTS of it. The topic appears every 2 months. I buckle my 11x14 Deardorff in a car all the time. I have a PT and no room for a camera case.