PDA

View Full Version : Light meter (and metering) questions

larry480
7-Sep-2011, 07:02
Hi, I'm just studying LF photography at the moment -- haven't bought any equipment yet. So please excuse what might be a stupid question about light meters. First, do you meter the light using a meter on the focusing ground glass? (I expect I'll be doing mostly landscapes and architectural shots where I won't be able to get close to the subject). Also, I'm trying to learn and understand the zone system. So what do i need: incidental? reflective? spot?

Thanks a lot for ay help you can provide?

aduncanson
7-Sep-2011, 08:07
Some folks use incident meters, others reflected. To say that one is superior or more natural than the other would be to invite a flame war that would not shed much light.

That said, I own both types but reach for my Zone VI modified Pentax 1 degree spot meter first. Most basic Zone System books, Minor White The Zone System Manual or Ansel Adams The Negative for example, discuss principally, if not exclusively, the use of reflected light meters. Adherents of incident light meters frequently refer to Phil Davis' Beyond the Zone System.

With a reflected meter, one meters the scene directly. I would think that there is too much light lost passing through the lens and the ground glass, and anyway the meter is calibrated to read the scene directly.

cyrus
7-Sep-2011, 08:50
With an incident meter you don't have to be close to the subject as long as you're in the same lighting.

You don't measure the light off the ground glass - you measure off the scene (I've only run into one instance of scientific photography where the lightmeter reading was taken off the groundglass using a special accessory.)