PDA

View Full Version : Linhof Technika backup bellows and other practical questions...

Noah A
1-Sep-2011, 06:15
I've been shooting with a Linhof Master Technika 2000 for a few months now and it's a real pleasure. I got it as a more portable (and occasionally hand-holdable) supplement to my Technikardan.

I have a few practical matters that I'm sure have been figured out by the many Technika users out there.

First of all, I find the universal bellows to be great, it's nice not to have to change to a bag bellows and I still get decent movements out of my wide lenses. However the fact that it's not interchangeable worries me a bit. I have some trips coming up and I'll probably take the Technika. So I worry about what might happen if I'm in Mumbai or Lagos and my bellows is damaged (probably due to user error or accident). Do any of you Technika shooters carry a spare bellows? Is it hard to change if I were to carry the correct tools? (And what are the correct tools, it appears to be just a screwdriver?)

If such an accident occurred, I'd probably send the whole camera to Marflex upon my return for a cla and a new factory bellows, so would it be smarter to buy a cheaper one from china or from camera bellows to use as an interim/backup?

The only other issue I have is that the camera has no built-in levels. I have tried a shoe-mount level I used to use with my Mamiya 7 but it's not terribly accurate. I assume if I ordered some Technikardan levels from Marflex and mounted them to the top of my camera that it would be a cardinal sin and would reduce the value of the camera. It may also interfere with the W/A flap and with mounting the camera upside-down which I do for front fall.