PDA

View Full Version : Kodak Commercial Ektar 81/2" f/6.3 for 8x10???

Ian Dickson
9-Mar-2002, 03:23
Hello. I have seen a "Kodak Commercial Ektar 81/2" f/6.3 with No. 3 Ilex Acme Sy nchro Shutter" available and was wondering if it is has enough coverage for 8x10 work. I am new to large format and lenses are still a bit of a mystery to me. I f it won't work what is the a good cheap lens to get me started (i will be doing scenics mostly)? Thanks.

John Kasaian
9-Mar-2002, 12:00
Ian, IMHO Kodak Commercial Ektars are a great first lens for the 8x10 I'm not familiar with the 81/2" but I've heard that the 190mm Wide Field won't allow for much movement on 8x10, and thats a wide field lens. I'd suggest looking for a 12" or 14" commercial ektar in good shape in a working universal shutter, OR a 10" Wide Field Commercial Ektar. The 12 and 14 inchers are pretty common as they were popular for studio work and would have been well taken care of and can be bought for $250-450. The 10" Wide Field was a favorite of Ansel Adams which is a nice endorsment. Good luck!

David A. Goldfarb
9-Mar-2002, 13:45
Not likely that the 8-1/2 Comm. Ektar will cover 8x10".

You definitely want a lens that gives you room for movements as a first lens, and the 10" Wide-Field Ektar has a huge image circle. It's also quite large and bulky, if that's a concern.

12" is a normal lens for the format. A Commercial Ektar or a Dagor would be a nice affordable lens in that range, both capable of excellent results. Gold Dot/Rim Dagors are regarded as better than the standard ones, but at three times the price, typically.

Something like a Turner-Reich triple convertible isn't too expensive, and it would give you three possible focal lengths.