PDA

View Full Version : Petzval radial drive

psychoanalyst
30-Aug-2011, 14:55
Hello,

I have a 5" Benjamin French Petzval that has a slot for a waterhouse stop (no stops though) and a radial drive.

I am going to mount it on my Speed Graphic.

I had a couple of clarifications:

1. I can see that the radial drive increases the spacing between the front and rear group of elements. What effect will that have?

2. Do I need to tape over the waterhouse stop slot to prevent light from entering into the camera?

Sorry for the noob questions, but I am an LF noob.

Thanks to all.

Avi

goamules
30-Aug-2011, 15:03
Hi, usually with Petzvals, the focus knob moves both the front and rear glass at the same time. Basically, the entire inner barrel moves fore and aft. It was just for focus. Some rare lenses actually changed the spacing, but they're not common.

I've never taped the waterhouse slots. The light doesn't get in that way, most have a "shelf" inside to block it.

Also, if your focus shaft lays across the barrel, on a tangent, it's not a radial drive. The radial drives were earlier, and the shaft goes straight into the barrel.

Enjoy using the lens, it should work fine.

Jon Wilson
30-Aug-2011, 15:03
The radial drive will allow you to fine tune your focus. There should be no reason to coverup the waterhouse stop slot. If it makes you feel more confident to tape it, especially if you have a once in a lifetime image opportunity, then I would tape it.

At least the above has been my experience. Sounds like a nice petzval. I love my french petzvals. I too use my "short" ones on my Pacemaker with its focal plan shutter.

I look forward to seeing some images posted.

Jon

psychoanalyst
30-Aug-2011, 15:16
Garret and Jon,

Thanks a ton for the info.

Here is my Petzval:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6135/5985283283_ce18742b73_m.jpg http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6004/5985845736_6194a54f79_m.jpg
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6136/5985846440_3eb1b17ec4_m.jpg