PDA

View Full Version : Rodenstock Grandagon 58mm

ghe67
27-Aug-2011, 11:42
HI guys,
I'd like to know your opinion about this lens conditions.
I'm not an expert about lens separation so I don't want to make a mistake buying it.
What do you think seeing the last pic of the auction page?
It worth a bit?
Thanks in advance.
Giorgio

http://www.ebay.it/itm/290603806953?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

E. von Hoegh
27-Aug-2011, 11:46
I can't tell if it has separation or not from the photos. In the last picture I see a huge reflection of an overhead light.

As an FYI, this should be in the "Lenses and lens accessories" section. :)

Bob Salomon
27-Aug-2011, 12:01
You looking to use it for medium format or 4x5? It isn't a 4x5 lens. The Rodenstock 55mm 4.5 Apo Grandagon covers 45.

Dan Fromm
27-Aug-2011, 12:16
Giorgio, it doesn't look bad at all. Mine has rings of fire in both cells, is usable anyway.

I know people who have 58/5.6 Grandagons and claim that they just cover 4x5 but Bob's right. It was sold to be used on 2x3 Graflex XLs and 6x9 Linhofs.

Something to consider: as set up for the XL -- that's the lens on offer -- the shutter has no "T" setting, only "B", and no cable release socket. Focusing it on any camera but an XL -- in its XL mount it couples to the XL's rangefinder -- is very difficult. The XL mount has a cable release socket on the tube. I solved the problem by replacing the shutter with a #00 Synchro Compur I had in the drawer; the "new" shutter has a cable release socket. Oh, yes, getting the cells out of the original shutter required work by SKGrimes, one of the cells doesn't unscrew ...

ghe67
27-Aug-2011, 16:41
Thanks for your answer guys.
I don't need it for a 4x5, it's for my Graflex Xl, I'm looking to find the complete set of lenses available at the time, anyway the lens cover the 3x4 format with no problem.