PDA

View Full Version : Light seperation

WootSK
25-Aug-2011, 05:00
Hi, I have a small query to ask the pros here. I have just gotten a Schneider- Kreuznach 90mm F8 from Ebay. The Lens front cell has a light separation that looks like coating wear off. I am wondering the effect of it on image quality at F16 and above.

http://gallery.clubsnap.com/data/500/Light_seperation.JPG

I bid for the lens knowing the risk as the seller is honest and posted photo of the light separation. Item arrived as shown in the photo clearly.:)

Brian Ellis
25-Aug-2011, 05:36
I don't know whether it will have any effect on the image but I wouldn't want a lens that looked like that unless it came at a real bargain price and I could test it and return it if I was unhappy. However, I'm not a pro or a lens guru by a long shot, maybe someone here who's one or the other can give you more assurances than I can.

WootSK
25-Aug-2011, 05:43
After some intensive "googling", it seems like a lens elements separating issue and are common with old lens when the cement fails. I did heard of such issue before from one of my LF peer who commented on Rodenstock old lens. First time seeing it, but still would like some guru to clarify and maybe tell me about the effect of it on image quality at F16 and above. Thanks

WootSK
25-Aug-2011, 05:47
I don't know whether it will have any effect on the image but I wouldn't want a lens that looked like that unless it came at a real bargain price and I could test it and return it if I was unhappy. However, I'm not a pro or a lens guru by a long shot, maybe someone here who's one or the other can give you more assurances than I can.