PDA

View Full Version : Cambo or Orbit view camera

rob91
19-Aug-2011, 10:48
I'll start off by saying I'm a novice view camera user with a moderate understanding of the format and am looking to purchase my first 4x5 on a somewhat limited budget. Two of the camera I am considering are an Orbit camera with a 135 lens (has the red bellows and gray body) and a Cambo camera with a 150 lens. The Orbit has the advantage right now of being a bit cheaper, the one thing I would worry about is it's ease of use and the degree of movements possible, this link describes some difficulties taking knobs off to use all the movements, I think I would find it slightly annoying: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/cameras/cheap-views.html. The Cambo has the advantage in that it is the camera I learned on and am rather familiar and comfortable with. It is a little more expensive but well within my price range and I know it does everything I want......and after typing that it seems the cambo should be the obvious choice, hah :0

I guess I'm perhaps just a bit curious about the Orbit camera, I don't see a lot of online information on it. Any thoughts on my purchase?

And thanks all, it's nice to make my first post on this forum.

Peter Mounier
19-Aug-2011, 11:53
I have the Calumet CC-401, which is long rail version, but the same design as the Orbit you're looking at. It's a great camera with full movements. You don't have to remove any knobs to have full unrestricted movements. The one in the article where they state you have to remove knobs is the Grover, a different camera make by Burke and James. I'm not familiar with it, but the article says it's unrelated to the Kodak design.
Here are some pictures of the Calumet CC-401. Replace the Calumet logo on the front with the Orbit logo and it's the same camera.

http://morrobaygiclee.com/CalumetCC401

Peter

Lynn Jones
22-Aug-2011, 16:16