PDA

View Full Version : First Post: Filters for 75mm

evanbaines
18-Aug-2011, 09:16
Hi gang!

This is my first post, but I've been reading here for a while. I have done my best to search for answers to these questions, so please forgive me if I am rehashing old news.

I am pretty new to large format photography, and I had a few questions I am hoping y'all might be able to help me with.

I just purchased a Nikkor 75 SW for my Cambo 4x5 to compliment the 150 Nikkor that came with the camera. I will mostly be using this lens with B&W negative film for urban landscapes and interiors for my personal projects.

1. I already have a number of B+W MRC color filters in 67mm that I have been using with my Mamiya 7. They are not slim/WA specific filters, but I never had any issues using them with my 50mm Mamiya lens, which is quite resistant to vignetting. How likely am I to experience significant vignetting with "normal" thickness filters on the Nikkor 75mm at a functional aperture (16-32)? Obviously, I will try to test this out when I can, but if someone can give me an idea of what to expect that would be awesome.

2. I have read every bit of information I could find about center ND's for 75mm lenses, and it seems that the consensus is: crucial for transparency unless the falloff effect is desired for some reason, may or may not be an issue for negative film, and can perhaps be addressed in darkroom/PS. As I plan on using the lens with BW negative film primarily, I will be testing it before taking the plunge on a center ND. However, most of the online threads talk about the Heliopan being the best choice due to its lower cost and solid performance. I am finding that currently, the Schneider 3B is much less expensive than the Heliopan. If I find that I do want a center ND for this lens, would the Schneider be inappropriate for any reason?

Thank you for your time and wisdom!

Gem Singer
18-Aug-2011, 09:56