PDA

View Full Version : I don't own a large format camera...

Jesse-Califonia
17-Aug-2011, 13:31
Yet.

Hi all, i'm new to the forum and plan on using it a lot. i have been a photographer for 4 years, but never shot 4x5 until recently (renting). I'm in my 20's and have made a few bucks off my fashion work and a couple pieces in galley shows so far.

I am planning a move into shooting fine art exclusively and need a format that can blow up to 60in beautifully. I'm going to go look around the site and soak up as much info and experience off you guys as i can, while asking a few questions here and there. Talk to you soon :)

Jesse

BradS
17-Aug-2011, 18:42
Hi Jesse. Welcome.

Brian Ellis
17-Aug-2011, 18:52
Welcome.

A 60 inch long print is a 12x enlargement from the long side of a 4x5 negative, way too big a magnification factor to produce a high quality print at least for me, 4x is about my usual maximum and I think something in that range is a common maximum for others. If you're thinking in terms of beautiful prints that size from film you might want to consider 8x10.

Marc B.
17-Aug-2011, 19:32
A few things to consider regarding which size of LF equipment to acquire.

If you will adopt a hybrid work flow; shooting film, then scanning into the digital realm, finishing with an ink-jet print, I would suggest nothing larger then 8 X 10, with 4 X 5 probably your better bet to start with.

Lenses that cover 4 X 5 will be less expensive, with greater availability then those for 8 X 10, or larger.
Greater availability of scanner options for the pro/semi-pro in the 4 X 5 size.
A wider choice of film emulsions are available in 4 X 5, followed by 8 X 10.

There are still two sizes of Fuji instant pack film, (and used backs for this film), available for 4 X 5 backs. The film for the smaller size is $0.80-$0.90 cents a shot.
In LF, that is very cheap learning. Of course, there are 4 X 5 reducing backs for 5 X 7, and 8 X 10 cameras.