PDA

View Full Version : Least expensive large format camera and enlarger for home use

tearcut1
17-Aug-2011, 03:40
I'm a student and I want to set up a large format camera and enlarger in a room.

What's the least expensive/cheapest large format camera and enlarger i can buy?

Also what is most suitable for shooting artwork/ graphic design stuff that is also very affordable?

Regarding enlarger the smaller the better.

Jon Shiu
17-Aug-2011, 07:30
For US, Omega D2V (or DII) is a good small and inexpensive enlarger. Calumet CC400 is an inexpensive rail camera. These are available on the used market, ie craigslist.org, ebay.

Jon

nolindan
17-Aug-2011, 07:30
Speed or Crown Graphic and the Graphlarger attachment should be the cheapest. The Graphlarger is hands-down the smallest 4x5 enlarger...

However, with enlarger prices falling to the point that there are stories of people picking up 4x5 Beselers for $10 a Graphlarger may cost a lot more for a lot less enlarger.

Speed/Crown Graphic, Graphic Vue (try and get the Vue II), Calumet and Burke & James are the low price brands. Wollensak Raptars are possibly the cheapest lenses but look out as QC was absent at the Wolly lens factory and there are some real 'coke bottle bottom' Raptars out there.

What do you mean by 'artwork/graphic design'? Copying paintings or doing lithography? If you are doing graphic arts where multiple images have to line up when stacked then you need a graphic arts camera - a 14x17 vertical nuArc can usually be had for the price of hauling it away. The negatives from a graphic arts camera are not enlarged but contact printed.

cyrus
17-Aug-2011, 07:34
The least expensive camera is a pinhole camera especially if home-made. Some very wonderfully creative things can be done with one.

Greg Lockrey
17-Aug-2011, 07:48
The least expensive camera is a pinhole camera especially if home-made. Some very wonderfully creative things can be done with one.