PDA

View Full Version : HP5 Rookie Question!

Mike 73
11-Aug-2011, 21:29
Hello All,

I am new to large format photography from 35mm and MF. I just started shooting with a Toyo 45G 4x5 camera. I am really excited to finally have taken the jump to this medium.

I am getting used to my new camera and have chosen HP5plus 400 4x5 film to get started. Right off the bat, I was stumped when it came to loading the film into my holders, regarding which side of the film is the emulsion side.

I did my due diligence and searched the forums. I found lots of great info, and also have read the Ilford tech sheet. I understand how to line up the film notches to get the emulsion side up. What throws me is that the 'up' side is silver in color, and to me looks like what I would expect the film 'backing' to look like. As a test, I shot two images, one with the film loaded silver side up (as instructed), and one loaded dark side up (emulsion side down). I expected one would develop fine, and one would fail. I was surprised to find both developed fine. Silver side up seems to have better density, dark side up seemed kind of thin. But both did produce negatives.

So, I am assuming the silver side is the emulsion side, as per everything I've read and from my testing, but I'm looking for someone to confirm my findings I guess, and maybe to explain what the silver coating is on the emulsion side.

thanks very much!

Zaitz
11-Aug-2011, 21:34
I've no idea the color but when the emulsion side is facing you the notches are in the top right corner.

Ansel - "The film is inserted emulsion side up, determined by locating the film's identifying code notch in the upper right hand corner."

You can probably expose the film decently backwards. With color film it's nicknamed redscaling :
http://microsites.lomography.com/redscalefilm/
http://www.flickr.com/groups/redscale/

Jon Shiu
11-Aug-2011, 22:03