PDA

View Full Version : 19 year old boy/man? from Sweden called David

slayvid
9-Aug-2011, 12:05
Hello large format users (addicts). My name is David and I currently reside in Sweden.
I started shooting 35mm film at the age of 4 (Of course at that time I wasn't serious.)
This lingered on until the age of 16 when I switched all of my old gear for a medium format one.
At the age of 17 i grew tired of studying but my grades weren't good enough for a decent photography college. And so come the age of 18 and this is when i start my first year at a community college.
Best decision of my life!

This is where I found my love for Large format photography.
During the end of my first year I was shooting 4x5's like a mudderfukker.
But soon i realized this wasn't enough for me.
I needed bigger. So that is why I bought my self an old 18x24 cm Chambre de voyage with a Rodenstock Hemi Anastigmat.
In just a few weeks now I am going back to the very same community college that got me hooked. This year however I am going to go old old school and begin my studies on 17th - 18th century photographic processes, Photographic history and Photographic journalism/documentation.

There is my introduction and now i want to end my introduction by saying that there is no other site like this. So much information cramed into my tiny computer screen is quite a marvel. Anyways thank you for being around largeformatphotography.com and all of its users (addicts).

Jay DeFehr
9-Aug-2011, 12:08
David,

Welcome! Enjoy your courses, though your 17th-18th Century Photographic Processes course might be shorter than you expect.

Vaughn
9-Aug-2011, 12:16
Welcome David! As Jay pointed out, the 17th and 18th Centuries are the 1600's and 1700's, so I assume you meant 19th and 20th Centuries.

I make carbon prints and platinum prints (and today, hopefully some salt prints). Have fun!

Vaughn

E. von Hoegh
9-Aug-2011, 12:47