PDA

View Full Version : ASA/ISO in Large Format

yeknom02
7-Aug-2011, 23:01
Preface: I'm new to large format and trying to get through my first box of film, 50 sheets of T-Max 400, exp. 2003. I'm actually shooting a photo a day until it's exhausted, at which point I may continue the project and order another box, but I'm trying to decide what film to try shooting next.

I was having a discussion with an older pro photographer, and he was surprised that I was asking about lower-ASA film (namely Delta 100) in 4x5 sheets. He said that most Large Format shooters would ideally use 400-speed film since the format is so large and you can use faster shutter speeds at that film sensitivity.

While I was fairly sure it was bogus reasoning to apply to the whole LF community, it did get me thinking. I use a 400-speed film (HP5+) as a general-purpose film on smaller formats and switch to something like Delta 100 or Acros when I want something sharper or more fine-grained. But again, that's for smaller formats. Do you think that your philosophy about choosing a film (and it's ASA) to shoot changes once you've moved up to large format? Or do you still find yourself noticing differences in sharpness and resolution once you're dealing with a gigantic negative?

Daniel Stone
7-Aug-2011, 23:11
He's right.

When you have a larger negative, you(should) have the need to expand(enlarge) it less to get to a larger print(even an 8x10 print is only a 2X expansion, where as a 35mm negative needs 7.5-8X, IIRC to reach an 8x10 print size).

Having a "faster" film helps one to get more shutter speed, especially if stopping the lens down to achieve the desired/required DOF for the photograph.

Tmax 400(TMY, now TMY-2) is a wonderful film, IMO. It has virtually no curve contrast wise, and can be developed to the moon, and still retain detail in the highlights. IMO, a spectacle of engineering in film design!

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it" I like to say. If you like the results, why change?