PDA

View Full Version : Tachihara 8x10 and what lens for architecture?

kamchow
5-Aug-2011, 09:37
hi, i'm a noob at LF.

i'm about to get a tachihara 8x10.

i want to use it to take architectural photos.

the buildings are about 200 feet (60 m) high.

so, does the tach 8x10 have enough movements to handle 200 feet high buildings?

from a website, it has:

Rise 120mm
Swing 17° &17°
Tilt 40° & 30°
Back swing 25° & 25°
Back tilt 30° & 40°
Bellows extension Max 550mm Min 90mm

not 100% sure, but this does not have shifts.
i don't think not having shifts will affect me too much - but please advise me if i'm wrong.

also, what lens should i get for this?

or would you suggest i get some other 8x10 LF camera?

thanks for your help.

Mark Stahlke
5-Aug-2011, 09:50
does the tach 8x10 have enough movements to handle 200 feet high buildings?It depends on your distance from the building and the focal length of your lens.

mandoman7
5-Aug-2011, 10:34
Technically, you can get an expensive wide lens and a camera with lots of rise and get a shot that gets everything in. Sometimes very wide lenses and extreme movements can give really unsettling results, though. I would suggest finding a way to explore your visual ideas before spending 2 or 3 grand, in other words. I'd get a Calumet 4x5 (rail) and a cheap used Schneider for less than $500 and use the more reasonably priced 4x5 film to learn what my tastes are and what equipment I would really need if I were to delve more deeply.
Its hard to learn at $3 a shot (or more) and carrying huge, attention grabbing equipment in public.

kamchow
5-Aug-2011, 11:14
mark - i did ask what lens to get.

say i got a 300mm nikkor f5.6. what's the formula? i'm a simpleton - ain't no good at maths!

well ok, slap me with the maths and i'll try and play around with the formula to see what works with the tach810's rise.

mandoman7 - i hear thee.

but i'm getting the tach810 at a reasonable price - 2nd hand gear.