PDA

View Full Version : 5x7 Questions

ryuichi cooper
30-Jul-2011, 18:11
Hi,

First of all I'm a newbie. I've been into 35mm for decades, but now I've seen the light.

I've seen so many great deals using 4x5 format, but the more I read about 5x7 format, especially here in this web site, I feel that's where I need to be. My love is landscape photography. The moment I saw landscape in LF I realized I was using the wrong format, i.e., it ain't in 35mm.
I realize everything is hard to come by in 5x7 and I should be starting out in 4x5 just to learn the 'ropes' but I'm not as young as I used to be so I'm anxious to get started out in the format that I want to develop and print in.
I've read the LF section of 'The Camera' and the one by Simmons, but I still have questions and am hoping you can help.
I've seen camera's such as Ansco, B&J, & Kodak advertised on ebay without film backs, film loaders, or lens board. If I purchase one of these camera's without the film back, lens board, etc, can I purchase any 5x7 film back, film loader or lens board or does it have to be for the specific camera that I purchased?

thx,

rudy

Ari
30-Jul-2011, 18:20
To answer your question: film holders are mostly standardized, so you can get a Fidelity, Lisco or whatever holder, and it will work with your camera.
The same cannot be said of lensboards or bellows, which are generally brand-specific.
There's a 5x7 outfit for sale here on the forum; it has camera, lens and film backs included, and is from one of the better sellers around.
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=78914
It would get you started right away, just get yourself some film.

Ken Lee
30-Jul-2011, 18:37
Based on your question, you might want to take just a little more time: enough to become better acquainted with View Cameras in general. You need to learn about the basics, so that you can find something which suits your way of seeing.