PDA

View Full Version : Should I/ Can I start with Fuji Quickloads?

Jim Peterson
30-Jul-2011, 15:08
I am just starting out getting my kit together for my Chamonix 045n2 4x5. I can still buy a new Fuji Quickload holder from Badger Graphics for about $40. Of course, I realize that quickload film is discontinued. However, I have noticed some people are still selling expired or near expired Fuji quickloads. I think I would only need to take about 100 shots to get started to see what I am getting into. I don't mind using newly or nearly expired film since my research says it is probably not a problem. Eventually I will go with cut sheet film but am thinking maybe try the quickloads just for the sake of history. I am a landscaper so am interested in Fuji Velvia 50, 100, and Provia 100F. Perhaps it will be convenient to try quickloads to start. Maybe someone has some old fuji quickolad film for sale? I don't shoot a ton. I am very slow and scout a lot and don't take a ton of photos due to expense and I have already shot a lot of mediocre images. What do you think? Jim

Ed Kelsey
30-Jul-2011, 17:57
Sure why not? Look for it on Ebay. I'd buy some that's not yet expired and freeze it. How much depends on your budget.

Sean Galbraith
30-Jul-2011, 18:39
No. I don't need anymore competition buying film.

photobymike
30-Jul-2011, 19:34
i have a kodak quick load adapter in the box 4 sale. 25 plus 6 bucks for priority shipping

domaz
1-Aug-2011, 07:22
Unless you have a good case for using Quickloads, hiking, backpacking or otherwise going light, then you are better off just using cut film. It's not hard to load film into holders and you don't need to get a super-expensive light-tent to do it. You just need a large dark bag that you can find very cheap.

David Schaller
1-Aug-2011, 08:18