PDA

View Full Version : Hello From Rexburg, ID

Shannon Wilkinson
23-Jul-2011, 09:06
Hi from The Burg,

I have been a hobbyist for more years than I can remember and a professional photographer for roughly 4 years now shooting with a Canon 5D. I recently returned to school to earn my BFA in photography and rediscovered the joy of film photography. A historical processes class I recently took has led to an almost obsession with historical processes. I have access to several large format cameras at school and recently purchased a 4x5 Crown Graflex. My husband calls it my gateway drug. He's right. ;) I used 8x0 and 7x17 for a series I shot in my historical processes class and am currently shopping around for my own 8x10.

My plan for my BFA is a series in historical processes of which I would like to include wet plate photography. I found the forum through Michael Slade and have literally spent the two days pouring over the information I have found on here! I appreciate all of the knowledge that has been shared. I have learned so much from here! Thanks to everyone who has shared so freely.

I look forward to getting to know you as I begin what I'm quite certain will be a lifelong love of large format.

Shannon Wilkinson

eddie
23-Jul-2011, 11:19
Welcome. Wait to you start playing with wet plate collodion! You will love it.

My mom is from IF. I spent many summers in IF and Gooding.

Eddie

davehyams
23-Jul-2011, 15:31
Eddie's right, haven't made a platinum print in a while. Wet plate is truly a medium one obsesses over. Check out www.collodion.com for more wet plate info than you can shake a stick at. You are in a wonderful part of the country, I have always wanted to make plates in the Tetons. Have fun!!

MMELVIS
23-Jul-2011, 16:16
Welcome and we look forward to your future posts. As I have seen others post," Welcome to the addiction"

Sirius Glass
23-Jul-2011, 16:40
Welcome to Large Format Photography Forum!

Steve

Brian Ellis
23-Jul-2011, 18:41