PDA

View Full Version : Seeking halation effects w/ sheet film in plate holders...

Will Frostmill
18-Jul-2011, 09:56
Hi,
I'm new at LF, and I'm interested in reproducing some of the interesting halation effects that were common with some kinds of plate photography. My understanding is that the halos are caused by light reflecting off the back of the film or plate and causing a secondary exposure. I think the amount of spread is greater with glass plates than with film since the material is thicker and lets the light spread out more before it reaches the emulsion. I think the intensity of the secondary exposure must have to do with the reflectiveness of the back surface.

So:
Am I on the right track if I attach x-ray film to the front of ordinary glass, reflective mylar film to the back, and put the sandwich into a plate holder?

And if I am on the right track, I've got a million questions about plate holders, glass, adhesives, etc.

(Also, I won't be offended if someone demonstrates that this is trivial to do in photoshop.)

Will

Oren Grad
18-Jul-2011, 10:00
You can get plenty of halation with ordinary film, lenses and holders just by shooting into the light and exposing very generously.

Kirk Gittings
18-Jul-2011, 10:04
I think he's talking about that nice glow you got around light sources in antique processes-much more appealing IMO than what you get on modern films.

Will Frostmill
18-Jul-2011, 10:08
Well that makes things simple now, doesn't it! Thanks Oren, that is really helpful, and probably added a few years to my working life.

*shuffles feet* gee, it seemed like so much fun to make it complicated...

Will

Will Frostmill
18-Jul-2011, 10:24
Kirk,