PDA

View Full Version : Looking for 5x7 Glass Plate Negative Holder(s)

HPDeary
15-Jul-2011, 14:07
Hello all,

I am new to Large Format and to this lovely community. Thank you to everyone for gathering together and sharing.

I've recently purchased my first HP 5x7 Deardorff, and it is in great condition.

All I need now is one or two glass plate negative 5x7 holders. I am only interested in shooting wet plate right now.

I know I can undergo a fun project and modify a film holder. But, the one article I found online (a scanned copy of an older print article) is not easy for me to follow. So, before I go into ultra concentration mode and get my self to modify a film holder I thought I would ask you all three things.

1. Does anyone have one or more 5x7 glass plate holders for sale?

2. Does anyone have a modified film holder for sale?

3. As my last resort I will need to modify a film holder. Does anyone have any simpler instructions with images or drawings?

Thanks for your time and attention. I'm looking forward to your responses.

BTW I'm 30. I read on another thread that there aren't many young people shooting LF these days. 30 is young and old, right?

-HPDeary

TheDeardorffGuy
15-Jul-2011, 14:20
When you get a chance, Measure the opening of your cameras back so we all know what holder to look for. Good luck!

lenser
15-Jul-2011, 15:50
Sending a PM.

In answer to your last question. 30 is now only a memory and a distant one at that.

goamules
15-Jul-2011, 17:59
Check Ebay for the old dryplate holders. Make a plexiglas carrier that sits where the glass used to sit, with your wetplate sitting in it. Works for me.

tim o'brien
15-Jul-2011, 18:17
Hello all,

All I need now is one or two glass plate negative 5x7 holders. I am only interested in shooting wet plate right now.

BTW I'm 30. I read on another thread that there aren't many young people shooting LF these days. 30 is young and old, right?

-HPDeary