PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from the traffic jam capitol of the world

ryuichi cooper
15-Jul-2011, 12:52
Hi everyone. I'm new to LF, in fact I'm before new, haven't got my camera yet, just reading "The Camera" to get an idea of what I need.

I've been in the 35mm world for a couple of decades. Enjoy shooting sports, my kids, landscapes. I've always wanted to get into LF for a number of years, but with young kids, time needed to spend with the family, life in general got in the way. Now that most of my kids are grown and I finally have some time of my own, I'm ready to learn about LF. I'll be asking a lot of 'dumb' questions, but please be patient with me, I really do want to learn.

thx,

coop
:)

DJG
15-Jul-2011, 12:55
Welcome, and enjoy the journey!

BrianShaw
15-Jul-2011, 13:08
Welcome to the forum, from a neighbor on the north side of the great traffic jam.

dsim
15-Jul-2011, 13:15
Hi and welcome to the community.

Sirius Glass
15-Jul-2011, 13:31
Welcome to the Large Photography Format Forum.

Living in Los Angeles and DC Metro-Virginia, I can tell you that the traffic is much worse in the DC Metro-Virginia. Part of the problem is that they call northern Virginia "No Va" which in Spanish means "It does not move". If you tell a child that it is stupid enough times, the child will believe that it is stupid. So by calling the area "No Va", the area complies and the traffic does not move. If these people want to know the source of the problem, they only need to go into the bathroom and take a look in the mirror.

Bob Salomon
15-Jul-2011, 13:31
Try the L.I.E. every day.

Sirius Glass
15-Jul-2011, 13:37

That is not a highway or express way; it is a parking lot with meter maids! :eek:

MIke Sherck
15-Jul-2011, 13:44
With the expressway shut down, do you suppose it will end up crowded with photographers grabbing their once in a decade chance to photograph from the middle of the road? :)

Mike

ryuichi cooper
15-Jul-2011, 13:54