PDA

View Full Version : Yanke Ultra Bright Fresnel+Ground Glass?

gmed
27-Jun-2011, 23:57
Would this fix my Chamonix 4x5 issue? Is this a Maxwell knock-off or this is GG and fresnel lens bonded together?

Do I really need the Fresnel lens?

excuse the questions, but Im really new to LF.

akfreak
28-Jun-2011, 00:25
I just got that exact one for an 8x10

timparkin
28-Jun-2011, 02:36
I just got that exact one for an 8x10

Opinions? Very interested...

Asher Kelman
28-Jun-2011, 03:28
Would this fix my Chamonix 4x5 issue? Is this a Maxwell knock-off or this is GG and fresnel lens bonded together?

Do I really need the Fresnel lens?

excuse the questions, but Im really new to LF.

What is the issue? The Chamonix ground glass it very good anyway?

Asher

IanG
28-Jun-2011, 04:47
What is the issue? The Chamonix ground glass it very good anyway?

Asher

The Camonix glass I've seen in use is dismal, but then the fresnel had been removed because the camera wasn't sharp with it installed. Chanonix made a mistake with the register as manypeople discovered.

A fresnel makes a huge difference to overall brightness, roughly 3 stops.

Ian

Ari
28-Jun-2011, 04:53
Opinions? Very interested...

Aye, me too.

Asher Kelman
28-Jun-2011, 04:59
The Camonix glass I've seen in use is dismal, but then the fresnel had been removed because the camera wasn't sharp with it installed. Chanonix made a mistake with the register as manypeople discovered.

A fresnel makes a huge difference to overall brightness, roughly 3 stops.

Ian

Ian,

My 8x10 has a great image on the GG. I didn't realize it could be better! Maybe they do different things for the 4x5. Let's ask Hugo!

Asher

gmed
28-Jun-2011, 09:07
the issue is only found on 4x5
it wa later fixed, but the early 4x5 models, the fresnel was between the gg and the lens, hence causing focus shift.

dsim
28-Jun-2011, 09:59

Ian

Hmmm..... The stock Chamonix 8x10 screen doesn't have a fresnel and is bright. Very easy to focus.

Ian,