PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 viewfinders

Peter De Smidt
15-Jun-2011, 17:27
I've never used a 4x5 viewfinder, and I'm curious how useful they are for finding compositions? (I have a Toyo AX, which has a flash shoe on top of the frame.) I know that Linhof has made them for years. How are they? What should they go for? Anything to look out for? Are there any good non-linhof alternatives?

vinny
15-Jun-2011, 18:24
I've heard mostly good things about the goersi finders sold on ebay. The linhof's are nice too but rare used and $$$$$ new. I don't use a finder since I know my lenses pretty well. I am getting one for a 4x5 point and shoot i've built.

Ivan J. Eberle
17-Jun-2011, 05:59
I like the wire hoop sports finder on the front standard of my Meridian 45CE used with a 135mm lens. Weighs almost nothing and doesn't increase the form factor-- unlike the Linhof types.

Michael Gordon
17-Jun-2011, 10:28
My brain and eyes are most useful for finding compositions, so I have no direct experience with finders. But if I did need one, I'd keep it ultralight and free and make it myself (http://www.ehow.com/how_4861383_finder-beginning-photography.html).

Drew Bedo
17-Jun-2011, 10:50
A famous man once said, "The ground glass is Truth."

Warren Clark
17-Jun-2011, 12:00
Hi Peter,

You might find some past threads about finders. A wide range of opinions and
methods with finders.
I use a Horseman zoom finder-- focal lengths 90-400. It will mount via
shoe mount but I was lucky to find mine with a detachable handgrip.
I commonly walk around to survey a subject or scene and the finder
gives me a good feeling for what focal length lens to bring back to
a specific tripod location. Everyone has their preferences-- for me the
finder is a very useful tool. Mine came with a 6x9 cm mask also.
When using 8x10 roughly use 2X the focal length reading.

Warren Clark

Sirius Glass
17-Jun-2011, 12:28