PDA

View Full Version : (sort of) new to LF and thinking about lenses

p-trick
12-Jun-2011, 05:21
I'm new to LF in the sense that I may be buying a Linhof Technica III (I know about the lack of interchangeability with later models, and don't mind for now).

I'm not entirely new to LF: I learned using view camera's many years ago with the Sinar F and X, but never owned one of these.

Basically, if I "win" the auction for the Technika III, my plan is to first see which lens-plate's I can get, and then look for lenses that will fit in.

So now for the questions:

(1) Any thoughts on getting lensboards from skgrimes?
(2) Suggestions for a first lens? (on smaller formats, I'm a standard to semi-wide adept, so I'd first look into the 100-150 area)
(3) Any other thoughts and suggestions?

And for the background: my main aim is to get my LF skills back where they where 10+ years ago, and have some fun. My budget matches these limited ambitions.
For now, I'm not equipped to enlarge 4x5 negatives and will contact-print for black and white, and perhaps also try out a bit of colour (there's a good traditional colour-lab in Brussels where they develop C41 in-house and still print with the enlarger).
Preferred subjects: city/land-scape and perhaps also a bit of portrait.

sully75
12-Jun-2011, 06:51
Foma 400 has a lot of bang for the buck as far as film goes. Not sure if the shipping charges would kill you from the US, but Arista.edu is the same stuff and sold super cheap from freestyle photo in the US.

Steve Barber
12-Jun-2011, 08:41
Much as I appreciate the people at S. K. Grimes, I would start by looking at eBay for one already bored to the diameter needed or putting a WTB listing in the classifieds here.