PDA

View Full Version : Help me with this Paterson Orbital stripe

Minhhich
7-Jun-2011, 21:18
Hi guys,
I have some experience with developing 35mm and MF using Paterson tanks and recently bought an Paterson Orbital processor for 4x5. Following advices from people I put domes of epoxy onto the base of the processor to keep the film from sticking to the base. After processing 2 sheets of Shanghai gp3 film in one batch using 450mm solution (which i tested to cover the film without agitation). I found out there are identical black stripes in the middle of the film see image below. I suspected these are caused by the "wings" on the lid of the processor touching the film during the process. What should I do to avoid this? Is it because I used too much developer? I used 450mm solution of 1:100 R09. Rocking the tank manually for agitation for the first minute and let it stand for 1h. Thanks
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5107/5810852296_688d6b78c3_z.jpg

Colin Myers
8-Jun-2011, 00:45
Hello,
For efficient trouble free processing og sheet films in the Paterson Orbital processor, the fins or ribs, need to be removed.
How high are your epoxy domes? You only need to just lift the sheet of film away from the base. I use tiddley wink, style discs on my processer and I guess these measure some 1 to 1.5mm in thickness. Hope this helps. If you need a photo of a lid sans the ribs, I am happy to forward one
Colin Myers

Pete Watkins
8-Jun-2011, 01:50
Hi,
Cut the wings off and make sure that there are no rough bits left and reduce the amount of liquid used to 300mm. As long as your epoxy domes arn't too high (about 3mm is O.K.) this should work well. Works for me.
Pete.

Minhhich
8-Jun-2011, 02:31
Thanks for your response. I will try to cut the fins off. The domes I have are about 3mm height. I wonder if 300ml solution would be enough for stand development?

Minhhich
8-Jun-2011, 02:33
Colin, please send me a picture of the lid with fin off

Pete Watkins
8-Jun-2011, 05:26