PDA

View Full Version : I'm Excited!

Boinzo
7-Jun-2011, 03:17
Like a few others I have also just taken delivery of a Chamonix 45-n2. This is my first LF cam and I have spent many weeks scouring through as much info here and elsewhere as possible. As well as collecting all the other odds and ends I required to get started.

Although I am a complete noob I am very happy with the workmanship of the camera. I think it is a wonderful piece of handy work. I too would love to see a manual! It took a while but I think I have it mostly figured out - in terms of what knob does what and so on.

I have spent a bit of time practicing loading film with some old sheets. This afternoon I loaded up 7 holders and a Grafmatic with the real thing in preparation for a hiking trip on the weekend. I was amazed by how quickly I got the hang of loading!
I am officially excited! I just hope I can keep everything in my head but retain the capacity to be creative....

Thanks to everyone here who's posts have helped me get this far. What a great resource.... I can't wait to press the shutter release and then find out how I went! :)

Andrew
7-Jun-2011, 04:00
don't get so excited that you forget to remove the darkslide before you click that shutter
:D

Dave Jeffery
7-Jun-2011, 04:07
I was still in the process of getting all my gear together when amazing lighting conditions were about to happen. There was a very even layer of clouds over the whole sky and the clouds were open to the west so I was fairly certain that the clouds would light up underneath at sunset and be incredible. I had never once set up my camera and practiced with it but I had made copies of the steps of how to use the view camera, which is on the LF home page here.

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/how-to-operate.html