PDA

View Full Version : Cambo rail camera clamp

osteri
4-Jun-2011, 13:32
I am interested in buying a Cambo rail view camera for $299, but I am very uneducated about large format gear. It does not have a clamp for a tripod mount. Firstly, can someone link me to a good place with info on Cambo cameras and second, where I can get an inexpensive clamp. It is a square rail. Any advice or comments on the matter is greatly appreciated! I'm a novice!

Thanks
Ian

osteri
4-Jun-2011, 13:33
It is a 4X5, by the way.

David Karp
4-Jun-2011, 13:44
Depending on which Cambo camera you want to buy, and what comes with it, I would guess that you might be able to get a camera for that much or less that includes the clamp.

Alan Gales
4-Jun-2011, 14:10
You have the right idea. A monorail would be perfect for starting out and learning camera movements.

I don't know what you are getting for $299. Does this price include a lens? You can buy an entry level Cambo/Calumet camera with tripod mount but without lens for less than $200.00 on Ebay. These cameras are light enough to use in the field as well as inside.

osteri
4-Jun-2011, 14:17
David, thanks for the advice!

Alan, I do not know what it is. I will link the website of the shop I found it in and maybe you could inform me about it. It has nice movements and is in very good condition but does not come with a lens. It has a recessed lensboard mounted, but I would want to buy a flat one for longer lenses.

Here is the link: http://www.jimscamerasseattle.com/cambo-4x5-view-came.html

I'd be interested in what model that is if you could ID it for me.

Thanks a lot,
Ian

osteri
4-Jun-2011, 14:19
I also see this camera on ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Cambo-Calumet-4x5-45N-Monorail-Studio-View-Camera-/140560054392?pt=Film_Cameras&hash=item20ba083878#ht_557wt_698 which may be a better deal. Any thoughts?

Alan Gales
4-Jun-2011, 14:42