PDA

View Full Version : Appropriate camera for Petzval and Verito type lenses

psychoanalyst
22-May-2011, 18:09
Hello,

I am very new to the world of LF photography, having taken the DSLR route into photography.

I am just about doing the groundwork to purchase my first LF camera and thought I'd drop in here and ask for some advice for newbies.

I was initially sure that I wanted to buy the Speed Graphic. Not only because its fairly cheap, but it has a focal plane shutter that would allow me to mount barrel lenses, which is essential for me.

The Petzval and the Verito are must buys on my list, but I don't want to end up buying the camera and then finding that the coverage is not enough to exploit the distinct Petzval swirlies....

So, the question I have is to whether get the 4x5 Speed Graphic or get an 8x10? Are there Petzval lenses that would give me the desired results with 4x5?

Thanks a lot!

Avi

Mark Sawyer
22-May-2011, 18:46
To get the "swirlies" out of a Petzval on 4x5, you'll want a shorter one, 3 to 4 inches in focal length I'd guess, and f/4 or (preferably) faster. These are reasonably common as Gem lenses and small magic lantern lenses, and are (usually) cheaper than the larger Petzvals.

If you want swirl from a Verito on 4x5, you'll have to find a small one, about 5 inches in focal length. These are pretty rare and expensive. An 8 3/4 inch Verito would be a lovely portrait lens on 4x5, but wouldn't swirl, if that's what you're looking for.

Lachlan 717
22-May-2011, 21:26
Make sure you consider how you will make exposures.

THese old lenses are fundamentally difficult to mount into modern shutters. As such, you will need to research alternatives.

Research Packard shutters, Sinar auto aperture shutters and good old black cap methods.

Jim Graves
22-May-2011, 22:40