PDA

View Full Version : X-Ray Film Resource Page

Ari
22-May-2011, 10:27
Hi,
I've been reading a few different posts concerning X-ray film, scattered around the forum, and wanted to consolidate all the knowledge we have in one place.
Also, I'm looking for some answers to my new-to-X-ray questions.
I just bought some Fuji blue-sensitive film, and would like to know if HC-110 is a viable developer.
And I'm not sure if this film is double-coated emulsion or single.
I'll be processing tac-style in a Jobo drum.
I'm waiting on the 8x10 camera to arrive, so I can't shoot anything yet, but it would sure help to be a little prepared.
Thanks, and I hope we can put together a decent amount of information here for all the experimental cheapos like myself!

Roger Thoms
22-May-2011, 12:42
I'm pretty sure the film is double sided so taco/jobo is probably not a good idea. You must have found Gene McCluney's thread, wealth of info there. I just got my first box of x-ray film, so I'm brand new to this too. The film is cheap enough though that you can experiment, the 11x14 I bought was < .60usd/sheet delivered. I am planning on using mine in a panoramic pinhole camera which means that I have to cut it down, which from my understanding is a bad idea since tha film scratches easily. :eek: Right now I'm trying to find some 11x14 film boxes to put the film in, once I cut it down, but have had no luck. May have to make a box if no one responds to my WTB add The film is cheaper than RC paper so I figured it was worth trying.

Roger

Lachlan 717
22-May-2011, 13:55
Good idea for a thread.

Any chance you can add where you're buying this from?

Also, can anyone shed some light on whether X-Ray 7x17 film will work in a "regular" 7x17 holder? I've got a feeling that it is slightly different in size, but would love to get the lowdown from someone who's used it.

Thanks.

Roger Thoms
22-May-2011, 14:07
I bought mine from Z&Z Medical, CSX Online is another source.

Roger

bobwysiwyg