PDA

View Full Version : How best to give/present a photo as a gift?

Jeffrey Goggin
16-Mar-2001, 18:44
I realize this isn't technically a large-format question but it's only been sinc e I started shooting large-format (well, medium-format, using movements) that an yone's expressed interest in having any of my prints so it's kind of on topic (m aybe).

Anyway, just giving them a naked print seems tacky but a framed one is beyond my budget for all but the most formal of gifts. Should I mount it and/or mat it m yself or just give it to them as-is along with a few suggestions about how I thi nk it should be matted and/or framed? What is the conventional wisdom in handli ng this type of situation?

Thanks!

Jeff Goggin Scottsdale, AZ

Bruce Schultz
16-Mar-2001, 18:59
I usually give away fotos that are only matted. I figure if you just give someone a print, they won't get around to displaying it. If you mat it for them, you'll probably prevent your work being presented in a manner you wouldn't like. With a mat, all that has to be done is framing. Many people would rather pick out their own frame style anyway.

Simon_1319
16-Mar-2001, 19:08
I'd say it depends on the size of the print, the nature of the friendship, and the degree to which you can do prep work yourself.

If it were me (I have no framing/mat-cutting capabilities) I'd go to a you-frame-it kind of store and have a mat cut, along with a same-sized mounting board (i.e., in 16x20 if it's an 11x14 print). If it's a fiber-base print, you may have to dry mount it to get it to look decent; otherwise I'd corner tape it in position and let the recipient decide how/if to mount it more permanently. I'd present this lightly-mounted, matted photo as is.