PDA

View Full Version : Got a Thornton Pickard - Can't figure out the model

Nick Ahlgrim
25-Apr-2011, 15:11
I just bought a camera off Ebay and am having trouble identifying the model. It was listed for relatively cheap and I was being very impulsive so I bought it, even though listing gave very little information about the camera. Almost none. And I am very new to the large format game.

Now its being shipped to me in the US from England and I am trying to figure out what I've got. Its a Thornton Pickard (that much I know) and I don't know what model. I think it is a half plate or maybe 8x10? I am finding many models that look somewhat like it, but a few things don't match.

One thing I can't seem to find on any other cameras is the brass fitting for the lens rise positioned on the front right of the lens board.

Its in pretty rough shape, so I am going to try and restore it. Its missing the brass tripod mount and maybe some other pieces. Hoping I can find parts somewhere.

I hope you can help me out. This seems to be the place to ask.

Still don't know how to post pictures, so a uploaded screen grabs from the auction om my flickr page - http://www.flickr.com/photos/nickahlgrim/

BarryS
25-Apr-2011, 15:37
Nick-- It looks like a British quarter plate or half plate camera, and I don't see a back. It has a TP shutter, but it's not clear if the camera is a TP. There were lots of makers of early 20th century wood and brass plate cameras. Quarter plate is smaller than 4x5, so you may have a project on your hands. Your best bet may be to adapt a 4x5 back with an extension. A half plate camera is more easily adapted to either 4x5 or 5x7. You can mount a board to the bottom or you can cut a roundel that fits the cutout. There's some good info for IDing at http://www.woodandbrass.co.uk/index.php

Nick Ahlgrim
25-Apr-2011, 19:31
Thanks.

It does not have a back. I was planning on making a 4x5 back. Hopefully it turns out to be a 1/2 plate.