PDA

View Full Version : Ilex 12" Paragon (I am new to 5x7")

kq6up
21-Apr-2011, 09:18
Yesterday I made my first 5x7" negative with my new B&J 8x10" with a 5x7" back. I was a little disappointed with my contact print. My neg looks pretty good. I will soup the next one a little longer, but even when I printed with a contrast grade of 3 it needed more snap, and it seemed like a snap I could not get from printing 3 1/2 (I will try again tonight). I tried 4 and it looked ugly no mater how I printed it.

I am starting to wonder if this lens is a dog. I had to shoot at f/8 because only one shutter speeds is currently working correctly -- that is 1/150s. It is in dire need for a CLA. Does this lens have a contrast issue? It is not coated, but I have been able to get snappy shots from uncoated glass in B&W before.

Confused ;o(

Chris Maness

rdenney
21-Apr-2011, 10:20
Yesterday I made my first 5x7" negative with my new B&J 8x10" with a 5x7" back. I was a little disappointed with my contact print. My neg looks pretty good. I will soup the next one a little longer, but even when I printed with a contrast grade of 3 it needed more snap, and it seemed like a snap I could not get from printing 3 1/2 (I will try again tonight). I tried 4 and it looked ugly no mater how I printed it.

I am starting to wonder if this lens is a dog. I had to shoot at f/8 because only one shutter speeds is currently working correctly -- that is 1/150s. It is in dire need for a CLA. Does this lens have a contrast issue? It is not coated, but I have been able to get snappy shots from uncoated glass in B&W before.

Firstly, I was not aware that there were any uncoated Paragons. My 8-1/2" Paragon is certainly coated, though the coating is minimal and also rather soft.