PDA

View Full Version : Which is the best LF and lenses to photograph rare books and manuscripts??

Geraldo Magela Souza
31-Dec-2000, 00:47
I'm a brasilian librarian and professional photographer and I'm developing a pro ject for our State Library that will publish and preserve brasiliam rare books a nd manuscripts. We (I and my staff) will work with libraries and museums to make their most beautiful and significant books affordably accessible.

So, I'd like to know which large-format camera and lenses with (or without) digi tal backs for scanning that produce sharp, grain-free, and color-accurate images (I want a great fidelity of size, colors, details, etc)... which camera do you suggest to this especific application?

Thanks, amigos!!!

Wayne_6692
31-Dec-2000, 02:25
We all have opinions - here's a site with more information than any of us have the time to post ourselves:

http://cameras-scanners-flaar.org/default.html

Wayne

Wayne_6692
31-Dec-2000, 02:28
Whoops - should have posted a short answer before the link. The answer is none of the above. Your best bet for flat art is a professional flatbed scanner - now check out the site. It's an incredible site, spend some time there.

Wayne

Sean Billy Bob Boy yates
31-Dec-2000, 03:00
FWIW the University of Chicago is on its second N.E.H. grant to preserve portions of it's "History of Religions" collection, some of which goes back 400 years. They have chosen scanning and microfilming along with traditional preservation processes.

On the other hand, Bruce and Ken Zuckerman who have been working with portions of the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Codex use a 4 x 5 (SINAR I believe), a 210 and 120macro lens and reversed enlarging lenses. They use strobe to reduce the damage to documents. Supposedly they are teaching others their techniques. Perhaps they have a web presence, but you might contact them at: 2 El Portal Palos Verdes CA, 90274 or call 310-541-4573

Sean Billy Bob Boy yates
31-Dec-2000, 03:27
Here ya' go